Contact us

This page provides a range of sources of planning advice and assistance.

On this page:

General planning enquiries

For general or first point of contact planning enquiries, please contact the Victorian Government Contact Centre on 1300 366 356 (local call cost) or email The Victorian Government Contact Centre will either provide you with the advice or refer you to the relevant area for assistance.

Accessing and reading documents

If you have problems accessing any documents on the planning part of this website, please contact us to discuss the best way of providing you with the information. If no contact details are provided on the topic page, please contact the Victorian Government Contact Centre - see details above.

If you are deaf, or have a hearing impairment or speech impairment, contact us through the National Relay Service on 133 677 or visit

More information about accessibility.

Planning permit applications

Usually enquiries about permit applications should be made to the relevant council as the responsible authority for issuing planning permits.  Find your council.

In some cases the Minister for Planning is the responsible authority for issuing planning permits. For enquiries where the Minister for Planning is the responsible authority, please contact Development Approvals and Urban Design - see contact information below.

Metropolitan and regional planning offices

Departmental metropolitan and regional offices support planning across the state and work in partnership with councils and key stakeholders in a region to deliver state government policies and programs. They assess planning scheme amendments and provide planning advice and guidance.

The regional offices provide for a wide range of the department's services including statutory and strategic planning information and should usually be the first point of contact.

Planning Services


8 Nicholson St, East Melbourne 3002
PO Box 500, East Melbourne VIC 8002

Responsible for:

Banyule, Bayside, Boroondoora, Brimbank, Cardinia, Casey, Darebin, Frankston, Glen Eira, Greater Dandenong, Hobsons Bay, Hume, Kingston, Knox, Manningham, Maribyrnong, Maroondah, Melbourne, Melton, Monash, Moonee Valley, Moreland, Mornington Peninsula, Nillumbik, Port of Melbourne, Port Phillip, Stonnington, Whitehorse, Whittlesea, Wyndham, Yarra, Yarra Ranges

Development Approvals and Urban Design


Tel: 1800 789 386
 8 Nicholson Street, East Melbourne 3002
 PO Box 500, East Melbourne VIC 8002 
(DX 210098)

Responsible for:

  • Projects of state significance
  • Priority projects where the Minister for Planning is the responsible authority or planning authority
  • Planning permits in: Port of Melbourne and areas of Melbourne and Port Phillip, where the Minister for Planning is the responsible authority, including the Central Business District, Southbank, Docklands, Fishermans Bend and Dandenong.
  • Planning in Victoria's Alpine Resorts - Falls Creek, Lake Mountain, Mt Baw Baw, Mt Buller, Mt Hotham, Mt Stirling

Barwon South West Region

Tel: 03 5226 4840
Level 4, 30-38 Lt Malop Street, Geelong VIC 3220
DX 216048
PO Box 1877, Geelong 3220

Responsible for:

Colac-Otway, Corangamite, Greater Geelong, Glenelg, Moyne, Queenscliffe, Southern Grampians, SurfCoast, Warrnambool

Gippsland Region

Tel: 5172 2533
71 Hotham Street, Traralgon 3844
(DX 219284) 

Responsible for:

Bass Coast, Baw Baw, East Gippsland, French Island and Sandstone Island, La Trobe, South Gippsland, Wellington 

Grampians Region

Tel: 5327 2800
Level 3, 402 Mair Street Ballarat 3350
(DX 214283) 

Responsible for:

Ararat, Ballarat, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Moorabool, Northern Grampians, Pyrenees, West Wimmera, Yarriambiack 

Hume Region

Tel: 5722 7119
Level 1, 62 Ovens Street, Wangaratta Vic 3677
PO Box 1084, Wangaratta Vic 3676
(DX: 219438)

Responsible for:

Alpine, Benalla, Greater Shepparton, Indigo, Mansfield, Mitchell, Moira, Murrindindi, Strathbogie, Towong, Wangaratta, Wodonga 

Loddon Mallee Region - Bendigo office

Tel: (03) 4433 8000
Level 1, 56 - 60 King Street, Bendigo 3550 
(DX 214546) 

Responsible for:

Campaspe, Central Goldfields, Greater Bendigo, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mount Alexander 

Loddon Mallee Region - Mildura office

Tel: 5051 2000
131 Langtree Avenue, Mildura 3500
Postal address:
Level 1, 56 - 60 King Street, Bendigo 3550 
(DX 217522) 

Responsible for:

Buloke, Gannawarra, Mildura, Swan Hill

Page last reviewed on 25 October 2016

Global menu Back to Top