As of 1 January 2015, the functions of the Department of Transport, Planning and Local Infrastructure have been incorporated into three new departments:

  • Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
  • Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • Department of Health and Human Services

This website will be updated over the coming months to reflect these changes.

Structure and governance

The department has five business groups that work together to support its ministers and deliver the Victorian Government's priorities.

Legislation and regulation

The department oversees existing legislation and regulation and develops new legislative measures on behalf of the minister across the transport portfolio.

Fees, charges and fines

Information about DTPLI services that require a fee and how to pay a fine, or request a review of a fine, can be found under each of the department's service areas below


The Victorian Government Tenders System website allows you to access Victorian Government Requests for Tender online

Chief Investigator Transport Safety

The objective of the position is to seek to improve transport safety by providing for an independent no-blame investigation of transport safety matters consistent with the vision statement and the transport system objectives of the Act.

Page last reviewed on 13 January 2015

Global menu Back to Top